Home > Contacts & Directions

Contacts & Directions

There are a number of key staff members which you may wish to contact at the Faculty of Law. These key staff members and their contact details are set out below:

Dean’s Office
You may need to contact the members of this Office should you need the Dean’s or Deputy Dean’s signature or approval for anything.

Dean: Professor Penny Andrews
Tel: +27 +21 650 2705/6

Executive Assistant to the Dean: Ms Sheryl Ronnie
Tel: +27 +21 650 2705/6

Deputy Dean: Postgraduate Studies: Assoc Prof Tracy Gutuza
Tel: +27 +21 650 5900

Faculty Office
You should contact the members of this Office should you have any administrative queries regarding your studies including: applications; registration; time-tabling; dissertations; graduation; and funding.

Faculty Manager: Academic Administration: Ms Sashni Chetty
Tel: +27 +21 650 3086

Institute of Marine and Environmental Law
For all issues relating to the Institute or the general administration of the Environmental Law and Marine Law Programmes you should contact the Administrator or Director of the Institute:

Mrs Toni Murphy (Administrator)
Tel: 021 6505642

For all queries relating to the following courses offered by the Institute in 2017 - please be in contact Professor Jan Glazewski ( - the programme convener in 2017:

  • Principles of Environmental Law (PBL5640F)
  • International Environmental Law (PBL5619F)
  • Pollution Law (PBL5643S) 
  • Environmental Law (LLB) (PBL4502S)
  • Land Use Planning Law (PBL5641S) - not on offer in 2017
  • Natural Resources Law (PBL5642S) - not on offer in 2017
  • International Law of the Sea (PBL5602S) - not on offer in 2017
  • Environmental Law for Non-Lawyers (PBL5045S) - not on offer in 2017
  • Climate Law and Governance (PBL5046S) - not on offer in 2017

Postgraduate Student Advisor
The School for Advanced Legal Studies (which administers the Law Faculty’s postgraduate programmes) has appointed a dedicated postgraduate student advisor. You should contact the student advisor should you have any questions regarding your choice of degree programme and the manner in which these degree programmes are structured.

Student Advisor: Assoc Prof Johann Hattingh