Search

Home > Contacts & Directions

Contacts & Directions

There are a number of key staff members which you may wish to contact at the Faculty of Law. These key staff members and their contact details are set out below:

Dean’s Office
You may need to contact the members of this Office should you need the Dean’s or Deputy Dean’s signature or approval for anything.

Acting Dean: Professor Hugh Corder
Email: hugh.corder@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 2705/6

Executive Assistant to the Acting Dean: Ms Faiza Mohamed
Email: faiza.mohamed@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 2705/6

Deputy Dean: Postgraduate Studies: Professor Danwood Chirwa
Email: danwood.chirwa@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 5615

Faculty Office
You should contact the members of this Office should you have any administrative queries regarding your studies including: applications; registration; time-tabling; dissertations; graduation; and funding.

Faculty Manager: Academic Administration: Ms Sashni Chetty
Email: sashni.chetty@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 +21 650 3086

Institute of Marine and Environmental Law
For all issues relating to the Institute or the programmes it offers, please contact:

Professor Alexander Paterson
Tel: 021 6505644
Email: Alexander.Paterson@uct.ac.za

For all queries relating to the following courses offered by the Institute - please be in contact Professor Alexander Paterson (Alexander.Paterson@uct.ac.za) - the programme convener:

  • Principles of Environmental Law (PBL5640F)
  • Land Use Planning Law (PBL5641S)
  • Natural Resources Law (PBL5642S)
  • Pollution Law (PBL5643S) 
  • International Environmental Law (PBL5619S)
  • International Law of the Sea (PBL5602F)
  • Environmental Law for Non-Lawyers (PBL5045S)
  • Environmental Law (LLB) (PBL4502F)

Postgraduate Student Advisor
The School for Advanced Legal Studies (which administers the Law Faculty’s postgraduate programmes) has appointed a dedicated postgraduate student advisor. You should contact the student advisor should you have any questions regarding your choice of degree programme and the manner in which these degree programmes are structured.

Student Advisor: Assoc Prof Johann Hattingh
Email: Johann.Hattingh@uct.ac.za